Adrian Gibbons Koesters (2007) presented her paper, “Because I Said So: Disclosure, Authority, and Creating New Languages in Memoir,” at the University of Iowa NonfictioNow Conference on November 6, 2010.

Anne McDuffie (2007) was selected as a Fellow in the 2011 Jack Straw Writers Program. Watch for news about the 2011 Fellows here.

Tina Schumann (2009) is judge for the 2011 ArtSmith Literary Award. Watch for results of the award contest here.

Anita Sulliven (2008) has just signed a contract to have her Greek travel book Ikaria translated into Greek.


Kent Meyers’ novel, Twisted Tree (Houghton-Mifflin-Harcourt, 2009), has won the High Plains Book Award in Fiction. His win was announced at the High Plains Book Festival in Billings, MT on October 9, 2010. See more information about the High Plains Book Award and this year’s winners here.

Lia Purpura was awarded a Pushcart Prize for her essay, “On Coming Back As A Buzzard,” which appeared in Orion Magazine in 2009. Hear an audio version of it here.

Marjorie Sandor‘s essay, “Eudora Welty and the Hidden Music of Gossip,” was published in the October 2010 issue of The Writers Chronicle.