Ela Harrison Gordon (2014): Her poem “Legion” earned second place in Fairbanks Arts Association’s Eighteenth Annual Statewide Poetry Contest.

Cindy Stewart-Rinier (2012): Crab Creek Review editors nominated Cindy’s poem, “Pre-K Pollock” for a Pushcart Prize, and awarded the poem their 2011 Editor’s Prize.


Nancy Canyon (2007): Nancy won an Artsmith Fellowship, to be held at Kangaroo House March 2012 to further develop her Reflections in Nature, a new series of acrylic paintings.

Kathleen Flenniken (2007) was appointed Washington State Poet Laureate, 2012-2014. (Whoot!—Ed.) Her second collection, Plume, (University of Washington Press, 2012) was recently chosen for the Pacific Northwest Poetry Series. Flenniken’s first book, Famous, (University of Nebraska Press, 2006), won the Prairie Schooner Book Prize for Poetry. Kathleen is president of Floating Bridge Press, a nonprofit organization dedicated to publishing Washington poets.

Lisa Ohlen Harris (2011): Her RWW thesis, The Fifth Season: A Daughter-in-Law’s Memoir of Caregiving, will be published by Texas Tech University Press in late 2013 or early 2014.

Anita Sullivan (2008) has been invited to join the blog team at The Weekly Hubris. (Click on her photo for the latest entry.)

Tandy Tillinghast (2010) will be presenting a workshop: “What’s Weird Unites Us” at the 2012 Oregon Rhetoric and Composition Conference, April 14, 2012.

Justin Wadland (2011) has become a book reviewer for Rain Taxi Review of Books, with reviews appearing in recent print and online editions of the magazine.


David Biespiel was interviewed by Suzanne LaGrande on KBOO.FM for the program, “Writers on Craft,” January, 2012. He also runs opinion pieces in Politico on a regular basis.

Stephen Corey: The University of Georgia Press has just released Stories Wanting Only to Be Heard: Selected Fiction from Six Decades of The Georgia Review, edited by Stephen, with Douglas Carlson, David Ingle, and Mindy Wilson. Ranging from a 1954 story by Jesse Stuart to one from 2006 by George Singleton, this nearly 400-page collection includes work by the famous (William Faulkner, Joyce Carol Oates), the widely known (T. C. Boyle, Barry Lopez), and the ought-to-be-more-widely-known (everyone else). Included in this latter category are two other RWW faculty members, Jim Heynen and Marjorie Sandor. For more information, visit The Georgia Review.

Peggy Shumaker, Alaska State Writer Laureate, and three other Alaska writers, Joan Kane, Amber Flora Thomas, and Nicole Stellon-O’Donnell, will read from their new books, published by The Alaska Literary Series of the University of Alaska Press, at Richard Hugo House in Seattle, WA on Monday, April 9, 2012, 7:00pm.